Towing an Airstream with Gen14, and ProPower 7.2

laujoyjoy

First Name
King
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 Platinum
So Tow Haul mode does let you go into 9th and 10th gear? I always heard people saying it locks out top gears at 8th.
Sponsored

i2oadi2unnei2

First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2017 XLT 3.5 EB 3.73 w/ HDPP @ #2541 payload
Just wondering what you meant by "however I do lock out 9 and 10"?

It was hot and dry and full of pollen this weekend. Most of the snow birds will be gone by end of March, which will open up some vacancies to the better camp sites.
I manually disable 9th and 10th gear, thus locking them out. I'm no expert but as I understand it the EB powerband is best at about 2500rpm. Camp sites here are taken up so fast it's not even funny. We are slowly moving towards boondocking but still teaching the kiddos to learn the word 'sparingly' lol.

OP
OP
dog_tired

dog_tired

First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
F150 Gen14 Platinum Hybrid; Tesla M3
So Tow Haul mode does let you go into 9th and 10th gear? I always heard people saying it locks out top gears at 8th.
Tow/Haul mode kept me pretty much in 9th gear on the interstate, with 10th on a rare occasion.

Also, and I haven't gone back to double check on this: I think I have to be in tow/haul for the parking brake to engage when using the backup camera and hitch assist. (without the parking brake, we always roll just an inch too far!).

OP
OP
dog_tired

dog_tired

First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
I manually disable 9th and 10th gear, thus locking them out. I'm no expert but as I understand it the EB powerband is best at about 2500rpm. Camp sites here are taken up so fast it's not even funny. We are slowly moving towards boondocking but still teaching the kiddos to learn the word 'sparingly' lol.
I like your thinking. I need to become more proficient with backing into tight spaces.