Sponsored

F150 Powerboost Hybrid vs Maverick Hybrid

MJ Heat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2019 RCLB 5.0/2022 Powerboost/2023 Maverick Hybrid
We are lucky enough to own a 22 Powerboost & a 23 Maverick. While they are both Ford Hybrid Trucks, there are big differences between them. Each has advantages & disadvantages over the other.

My Powerboost is a 157” FX4 & has been great so far. It has averaged about 27mpg over the 6 months which I have owned it, which is 5.5mpg better than the virtually same truck that I had with the 3.5 Ecoboost. Six months in, I am still learning how to drive this truck for best mileage. With that said, I regularly see 750-800 miles to empty on this 30.6 gallon tank at fill ups.

Pro Power is for real. My truck has the 7.2kw output & did great after a hurricane last year, powering my house for a few hours using about a quart of gas.

My Powerboost rides to me like the best Cadillac you ever had. It is shockingly comfortable.

Getting the best mileage out of the Powerboost has its challenges. It requires lots of tapping the brakes to get the truck to shift over to electric at optimal times. The battery, at 1.5kw, is larger than the 1.1kw Maverick battery, but doesn’t give nearly the range on this much heavier truck, that the Maverick battery gets you with the lighter vehicle.

We have only had our Maverick for a little more than 3 weeks. There is only 400watts of 120v AC power available with the truck. It has averaged 47mpg so far, at now about 1100 miles. My best trip so far with the Maverick was 24.7 miles at 64.5mpg. Of course relatively speaking, towing & payload capacity are significantly limited.

The Maverick seems to go electric on its own much easier than the Powerboost & have significantly more electric range. We regularly get more than half electric miles around town on the Maverick, but almost never get more than 30% electric miles with the Powerboost.