Sponsored

Trailer with 3.31 vs 3.55 Axle Ratio

F150Eh

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 XLT
Hey all,

I'm going to be towing a 6000+ lb trailer this Summer and I have a truck order to be built with 3.55 axle ratio. It's in KC though, so 4 week shutdown + no confirmed build date has me looking at on-lot options at my dealer just in case. They have one with the same 3.5L V6 engine and towing package but its a 3.31 axle ratio. GCWR is the same for both based on the Ford towing guide. I am new to towing and truck owning, so is there anything that would be of concern moving down to the 3.31 ratio?

Appreciate any comments, thanks!
Sponsored

Tosh

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 Lariat PB
Occupation
Re-Tired Bicycle Mechanic
I guess the main thing is you'll be turning lower RPM with the 3.31, and you might have to downshift more that if you had the 3.55.

What you might want to look at is the front surface area of your trailer. Tall, or low profile? this could make a big difference with a headwind. Ford includes recommended frontal area in their towing guide

boy racer

First Name
Mando
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F-150, 1985 Mustang 5.0
My .02 cent opinion so take it for what it's worth. Normally, the 3.31 would get you better gas mileage, on highway. But, with the 3.55 you will get a bit more pulling power so less time at higher RPM to get your trailer moving and when going uphill. If most of your towing is flat highway, the 3.31 should do you fine. Again, this is based on my basic knowledge on how differential gears work. I am not a mechanic or engineer.

mustanga10

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 Lariat FX4 Sport 2015 Subaru Outback
Occupation
Public Service/Government