First Name
Jonathan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
01 GMC 1500, 93 Mustang LX SSP
Occupation
Product Marketing
Ok, so anyone care to dumb this down for us old geezers?
Think of it as Forscan (kind of) for engine and transmission. You have the ability to either buy an MPVi device and tune your truck yourself, or you can purchase a RTD (remote tuning device) and pay a reputable tuner to create a tune for you.

You can alsofix simple things like speed/rev limit, speedometer calibration, etc
Sponsored

Mtnman1

First Name
Tod
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F150 RCSB FX4
Occupation
Engineer
I'm no expert, but HPTuners is a well established tuning platform. Until now, they had not tackled the encryption that Ford used on the Gen14 F150 PCM.

I think Livernoise was the first to do so.
Recently SCT, another tuning platform similar to HPTuners, cracked the encryption.
And now HPTuners has.

Now the part of the answer that is just my opinion.......

Livernoise tuning is completely proprietary. You can get your vehicle tuned by them, and it might be a great tune, but you will never know what parameters they altered or how they accomplished the result.

SCT is a little less sandboxed because it is a platform (software) that you could learn to tune with personally, but for the most part there are a limited number of tuning companies that most just purchase their SCT tunes from. What that offers that Livernoise doesn't, is competition. And each tuner seems to have their own approach and the consumers can share their opinions and get tunes that match their preferences.

Then there's the news regarding HPTuners. And again, just my opinion.
There's a community of folks who purchase and learn about tuning on this platform. There lots of fellas that tune their own vehicles. Then there's tune sharing amongst enthusiasts with similar vehicles and goals.