Sponsored

2023 Center console shifter weirdness

Fortech

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F150 FX4
Hey, I have a 2023 Sport with the front buckets and Center console, including the lie flat shifter.

From time to time, the shifter seems to be out of calibration, for example:

- Press button to shift from Park into D, I feel the shifter move through 3 “notches” (R, N, D) and attempt to drive. Vehicle doesn’t move and I look down and truck in in N.

- Driving in reverse and attempt to shift back into D. I feel the shifter move through 2 notches (N, D) and again, truck in N with N illuminated.

I’ve been driving a console shift of one make or another since 2002 however this new 2023 is definitely doing some odd things. Has anyone else experienced anything similar? Maybe a cable that needs some adjustment?

It’s weird but it seems that from time to time the shifter has an extra notch or click which is throwing me off. I’m not the type to look down each time I move the shifter, it’s been second nature for years but this Ford is throwing me off.
Sponsored

Last edited:

fordtruckman2003

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
Use the fold down feature a few times. I thought it was crazy until I read it on the forum. Using the fold feature seems to get it back into whatever notch it comes out of then it feels normal and not loose.

NotMyName

First Name
John Doe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Bronco First Edition, 2022 F150 Platinum
I’ll give it a try!
I have a 22 platy with exact same issue including going from D to P (feeling the clicks) and ending up between R and P. I’ll give the fold feature a try. Mine doesn’t do it all the time.

Snakebitten

First Name
Bruce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
This console shifter mechanism taught me to be gentle, slow, and deliberate with selecting.