First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Ford F-150 Lariat
Occupation
Systems Engineering Management
So, I'm a newbie; forgive me for may what seem like a dumb question, but I walked my wife out this morning as she was leaving for work. When she turned her headlights on, they shone through my grill and I noticed there were some flaps or shutters, something like blinds you can open and close in a window. I noticed these were closed, and I never noticed them before, but remember seeing the radiator behind the grill before. What are these flaps and why are they closed?
Sponsored

astrand1

First Name
Alex
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
22 Ford F150 Powerboost 7.2kw
Occupation
Studio truck driver
Called active grill shutters. Many newer vehicles have them. They open and close as needed for cooling and fuel efficiency etc.

OP
OP
4dRunningMan

4dRunningMan

First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Ford F-150 Lariat
Occupation
I presume then they are 100% automatic?

Aron

First Name
Aron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'22 F150 Lariat PB 4x2; '15 Expedition; '98 Ranger
Occupation
Civil Engineer
Yes. There's no way (switch or button) for a driver to activate them. I guess that it's possible that there's a setting in Forscan somewhere for you to monkey with it, but I would strongly recommend against it.

Sponsored

OP
OP
4dRunningMan

4dRunningMan

First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Ford F-150 Lariat
Occupation
And I just found out this morning that my headlights turn with the steering wheel! How cool is that?!?

Snakebitten

First Name
Bruce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
And I just found out this morning that my headlights turn with the steering wheel! How cool is that?!?
Those LED projectors are LOADED with technology that isn't even enabled from the factory.

First, they are putting out better light than any headlight Ford has ever equipped their trucks with.