First Name
Wally
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Ford F-150 Lariat SCrew FX4 Powerboost
Occupation
IT Director
So I’m no electrician and had a couple companies give a proposal to wire the house for a transfer switch. The bids differed substantially though both specified the same Generac switch that I’ve seen referenced here. One technician said that the switch could NOT be used with a standard portable generator, the other said it could. From what I read I believe it cannot. If not, do I trust the technician who believes it can to do the work since they had the lower bid? Both companies are well known electrical companies in my area. Thank you for your thoughts and opinions.
Sponsored

xtraman122

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
‘21 302A PB
There are a few electricians on here that can chime in, but I believe if you were to use a non-bonded generator with the proper full transfer switch that cuts your neutrals and grounds over (What’s required to make the PB work) you’d lose GFCI functionality.
@Hullguy ?

imnuts

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'21 502A Powerboost 4×4
Occupation
Facilities Engineer
It will only work safely with bonded neutral generators, which is probably most inverter generators. Non-inverter generators could be bonded or floating neutral, but there are typically instructions on how to go from one to the other.

Gros Ventre

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Powerboost