Sponsored

How to install a permanent trickle charger on new F150 Lariat 2023. Also how can I have the Battery/Alternator level on the screen steering wheel?

AndreB

First Name
Andre
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F150 Lariat 502a Star White Metallic 157" WB
Occupation
Retired
Hello everyone
I am new to the Ford community. I traded in last week my old GMC 2500 HD 6.0L V8 2012 for a new Ford F-150 Lariat 5.0L 2023 (built in November 2023).

I always had battery drainage issues with my GMC. So I installed a permanently hooked up trickle charger (Noco Genius Gen5x1) on it and plugged it in once in a while. I am planing to do the same with my new F-150.

My old GMC did had have all of this new fancy technology that F-150 has. For instance, the Battery Management System (BMS) and battery information State of Charge (SOC). The hook up of the trickle charger was straight forward.

I would like to take advantage of the wisdom of you long term Ford owners for the correct installation of the trickle charger leads (directly on the battery terminals positif and negative, the positive directly on the positive battery terminal and the negative on the top of the BMS or the positive on top of the positive battery terminal main power cable and the negative under the BMS) or any other way to hookup the charger's lead correctly?

Added question… how can I have the Battery voltage/Alternator voltage in the screen behind the steering wheel?

Thank you in advance for any help.
Andre
Sponsored

Last edited:

RancidRacer

First Name
Red
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023KRPowerboost, 1995Ranger
Occupation
Retired
Based on the wisdom gleaned from this forum, I have my battery monitor mounted between the positive battery terminal and the top of the BMS. When I trickle charge, I do so between the positive battery terminal and a convenient chassis ground connection.

gagliano7

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F150 4x4 XL STX BAP 5.0 3:73