First Name
Ashlen
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F-150 XL Regular Cab 5.0
Occupation
I work in a hospital
Hi, So i ordered a bull bar from amazon during the memorial day sale. It was the tyger auto.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NGTYX4D?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

My truck didn't come with factory tow hooks, the covers over the front bumper are held in by two 5.5mm screws and then they pop out. Good on ford for doing that, the previous gen people had to cut the bumper seen some unsightly holes. Got my leatherman and sawed off a little bit more of the plastic trim going back keeping the width of the original covers. I could have used a heat gun with exacto knife but I went with the little saw instead, it cut fine once I made the initial cut. Your going to have to make a wide cut for 2 reasons one is to align the bracket for the bull bar and second is to get a ratchet in there to tighten the bolts. I noticed that my frame is a closed end, which sucked and was a royal pain to get the u brackets, bolts and washers to install.

If I pushed too hard with either the washer or the bolt it would push the u bracket into the frame and I would have to realign it all over and start from scratch, there was very limited space to put both of my thick hands in and hold all the hardware in place while I finger tightened it. It took me an hour and half of dropping bolts, washers losing u brackets in the frame but I eventually got it. From there it was a cake walk just align the bull bar and install the bolts. It can be done with one person, I held it in my lap and pushed it in place with my knees. I could not get a torque wrench in there or my impact, but I used my ratchet and wrench to tighten it, I might go back and put a dab of blue loc-tite for my peace of mind. Then get some sand paper and clean up the edges on the plastic underneath where I cut.