What grade fuel do you run?

JExpedition07

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F-150 STX 5.0L V8
With the 5.0 V8 squeezing the mixture with a 12:1 compression ratio and the 3.5 EcoBoosts turbos cramming all that extra air into the cylinders these trucks seem to be asking a lot out of 87 octane. There is a lot of pressure in these cylinders no matter which motor you run. What’s the consensus here, I filled up with Plus (89) today.
Sponsored

bfastr

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 King Ranch 5.0 V8
I run 87 in my 5.0. but I drive like an old man, don't tow anything and don't ask a whole lot out of the truck. If I was pulling something I would step it up a grade or two.

but I will add I dont go for the cheap gas stations. I stick to the big name companies.

Last edited:

JohnMcClane

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
15 150
When I’m not foiling Russian Terrorist plans, I work in the engineering field.

The engineers for the 5.0 say I can put corn fuel in it. I don’t, but I could. I’m more of a “quality” fuel believer. If you can’t get ethanol free, at least get top tier.

I'm pretty fortunate and would say 95% of my fills have been at Costco with 87, so I’m getting high quality fuel at a low price, when I know I’ll be towing I go ahead and put in the 93. For a minute last year 93 was less than $2.75 and I was in full send mode.

Last edited:

Antimatter22

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'22 F150 Limited in Star White.
I put premium in my Powerboost. I don't really tow or haul a lot so I could probably get away with 87 or 91. Not sure paying extra for it improves my fuel mileage as it seems like I get around 21 average according to the truck and not hand calculating it.

I don't drive a ton so the added cost of premium isn't huge, but it could add up. I'll probably end up around 10k miles year over year.

Sponsored

Buyer2021

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lariat SuperCab and 2005 XLT SuperCab
Occupation