First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F150 Lariat 3.5 powerboost hybrid
Occupation
Retired
Newbie here, with what I’m sure is a dumb question. I‘ve been asked if I’m going to protect my investment by undercoating the vehicle. What are the pros and cons of such a procedure on our F150 truck?
Sponsored

JExpedition07

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F-150 STX 5.0L V8
Just stay away from Ziepart and tar coatings like that as they are proven to trap moisture and accelerate rot of your vehicle. Ziepart will have holes in your frame by 8-9 years old while the moisture and salt eats the steel (it gets trapped below the tar). Krown, Fluid Film, Woolwax lanolin based coatings are fine as they breath and don’t trap salt/moisture.

Cb Mw

First Name
Brett
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Bike
Anything that hardens to the surface will cause more problems than it will help.

There is no 1 and done solution. It will require occasional reapplications.

Pelican

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F-150 Lariat (502A) Supercrew 3.5L EcoBoost
Occupation
Financial Management
I agree with JExpedition07 and Cb Mw. I had Woolwax sprayed on my truck. Its about the consistancy of vasoline. Seems to hold up well even going through the carwash multiple times a week. I'm going to have it touched up next year.

Sponsored

MJG44

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
22 F150 Black Pack -22 Expedition Stealth - 03 HD
Yes don't go with the tar, 10 yr warranty one and done deals.

I apply Corrosion Free yearly and wash my vehicles fairly regularly.

It's Spring when the rust does its damage. The thaw and warmth with the salt stuck to your vehicle takes it's toll.

WhiteLightningnshitshadow

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2004 F150 4.6 SCAB 6.5 and 2022 2.7 SCREW 5.5
Occupation
Lead Engineer