Sponsored

Twin Panel Moon Roof?

LostBoy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Space White F150 XLT 5.0
I'm new to these, but i've heard they have a bad rep. I'm unsure if these open like a sun roof? If they do, can i avoid leaking issues by just not using the feature at all? I see a lot of nice used trucks for sale and wasn't sure if the moon roof should be a deal breaker. I dont really care if it has it or doesn't have it, i just dont want issues out of it. Thank you!
Sponsored

Whoosh

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
21' PB F150,18&20 Ecoboost Explorer Platinum,
Occupation
Worker of lead
the only leakage I've experienced in five trucks and three explorers is in some touchless carwashes with the powerful spray (only for the moment when the spray is directly above the joining seam, i feel a minor "mist" if I have the shade open) i've also made the dumbass mistake of opening the sunroof and stopping when theres water up there, but that's my stupidity, not the trucks

JerryLZ

First Name
Jerry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 502A PB
I wanted one so I added it but that being said, go in with expecting routine maintenance. You need to keep the seals lubricated so they don't dry up and also periodically check and clean the drain tubes.

Paul Neubauer

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F-150
The sunroof on my 2018 jammed partially open and broke something. I had to wedge credit cards in between the two panels and force it back down slowly while hitting the switch multiple times. I tried opening in again and it did the same exact thing. I deleted the sunroof option on my 2021.

Icecoldak

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2019 F-150 Limited
I have had the moonroof in my 18 and 19 ---so 4 years and some, ZERO issues and I use it everyday--I will not buy a vehicle without a moonroof period!!!!

Sponsored

Kodiak

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F-150 Lariat PB 7.2k, 4x4 502a Atlas Blue BAP