Sponsored

Turbo wastegate actuator position sensor faults.

AFrench7

First Name
Austin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 XLT super crew 4x4 2.7 EB
Occupation
Technician
Just wanted to start a little something here for everyone's benefit, just in case some poor soul out there is dealing with the same problems I am.
Back story : just got my 22 F150. I've had it 5 weeks now. 2.7EB, 4x4, super crew, and 302A pack. That's it, the only addition I made on top of the 302A was a 36 gal tank, and a built in brake controller. Aside from the sync and heated seats it's a fairly plain truck.

The problem: @ 1661 miles, service engine soon light comes on, promptly followed by a CEL and heavy derating of the engine. I freaked out, turned around and went home. Pass app says turbo wastegate actuator position sensor OR associated wiring harness fault. Alright, whatever. Shit happens right? I've been wrenching on Ag/industrial stuff for about 8 years now, I know this stuff happens. Disconnect battery, let sit for an hour, come out, reconnect, and fire it up. CEL still present, full power returned, CEL clears after a few key cycles. I decide that regardless of this, I still take truck in, have them go through it, and print me a very detailed list of everything annotated by their tech. I was good to go.

@2481 miles, this very morning, same malfunction. Not surprised at all. Call up dealer, made an appointment and I told them to go through it with a fine tooth comb. Can't get me in till Friday the 9th of Sep, but it's whatever. This time I'm not disconnecting the battery, so I have a full work week and a day ahead of me with no cruise and NO power. It'll be a bit rough haha.