Sponsored

Stronger Wifi Encryption

succeed23

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 Lariat
As a cyber engineer, I'm wired to look at the security settings for all the features/apps I use. I noticed the truck's wifi only has WPA encryption. I'm alarmed that Ford is using this level of encryption as it is easy to break, so I'm hoping an over-the-air update can address this change. Android Auto and likely Apple Car Play connect to the truck's wifi as well as the Bluetooth connection. I'll likely have to connect to Android auto via USB and disable the truck's wifi rather than use the wireless connection to reduce any potential risks. I'll update this if I'm mistaken, and can change the encryption level. Hopefully @Ford Motor Company can give this feedback to the proper team(s).
Sponsored

dweller

First Name
Jonathan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Soon maybe 2021 F-150 Lariat 3.5EB 4x4 Lead Foot
Occupation
Army
EDIT: Where did you find that the hotspot “only has WPA encryption”?

This video shows a 2021 with WPA/WPA2 mixed mode:

While a WPA2-only network would be more secure, mixed mode allows clients to negotiate the encryption protocol. Most modern clients should be using WPA2 by default or at least negotiating WPA + TKIP/AES vs the vulnerable WPA/TKIP only.

Yes, WPA2-only would be ideal, but mixed mode is very common and should be just fine for the vast majority of users in a non-enterprise environment.

END EDIT

Why do you say it’s insecure? The insecurity of WPA is a result of using a weak WiFi password. If you use a secure password it’s virtually impossible to “break” WPA. Are you referring to retrieving the password hash from the 4 way handshake or is there something else?

Last edited:

Roady

First Name
Cory
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 F150 XLT FX4
Occupation
Information Technology