• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Spare Tire Placement Design

BennyTheBeaver

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lightning XLT ER
I've just seen the initial impression on the Rivian and I saw how they embedded the spare into the bed of the truck. Ford is also putting the spare on the rear of the truck, but theirs will be under the bed (which I like and prefer).

I hope this isn't just a stupid question, I'm not an automobile engineer.

With the new Frunk space these vehicles have, why aren't these companies looking at putting the spares up front? Considering that the suspension is the same on all tires wouldn't the additional weight balance in front help with rear payload figures? What is the downside to putting the spare under the Frunk, or making the Frunk a little shallower?
Sponsored

SteffanG

First Name
Steffan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2011 Audi Q5 (written off), 2008 F150 XLT HDPP
Occupation
Electrician
Well for one, it sucks having to empty everything out to get to the spare tire.
And second I dont think it would actually fit in the frunk as it is a full size spare which would also have a considerable weight to lift out of there without scratching the front bumper (probably weighs at least 30-40lbs).
I prefer it underneath where you can get to it without worrying about what you are carrying. How convenient would it be to have it in the frunk, but have 400lbs of cement bags that you have to unload to get to it?
From where it is, it appears that they are using space that would otherwise be empty.

OP
OP

BennyTheBeaver

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lightning XLT ER
Well for one, it sucks having to empty everything out to get to the spare tire.