Pro-Comp Level questions regarding suspension travel

tboger7

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2014 F-150 FX4
Occupation
Electrician
So the pro comp 2.5” kit seems to be the most popular so far, but after looking more into it I have some questions.

I’m no suspension expert, so please feel free to jump in and correct me but these are my thoughts/concerns:

The pro comp kit is a 2 piece kit with one spacer going on top of the “coilover” assembly - as to be expected. However, the next spacer that sits between the top hat and the spring is what’s concerning me.

Everybody claims that the ride is not affected and that may be true being that the spring rate and dampening is unchanged. That being said, in my mind, by putting the spacer in at that spot and lowering the spring’s position by 1.5”(?)with the same spring rate, you’re now forcing the shock to extend that same distance to compensate and create some of that lift.

Obviously works out great sitting still, but when you think about it, what is it doing to the overall travel of the suspension? In theory, you’ve already taken away 1.5”(?) of downward travel without the suspension even being active. The shocks will also, in theory, never fully compress as the springs combined with the new spacer has shifted the overall position of the shock downward by 1.5”(?).

I guess at the end of the day I’m just thinking about the life of the shocks and how the suspension is actually affected by this particular kit. If it is going to cause premature failure of the stock shocks, I’m considering just putting the money out now for a set of coil overs or something that’s going to last a bit longer.

Lets see what your thoughts are…
Sponsored

TxBrian

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2018 Raptor
Depends on how you will be using your truck.

I’d never do spacers or pucks on a truck I was going to use off road extensively.