• 📊 F-150 Orders List & Stats: Add Yours Inside!. The Lightning List Is Here. ⚡️
  • Announcing F150Lightningforum.com!

    We're happy to announce the spin-off and launch of our F150 Lightning Forum - F150Lightningforum.com!

    If you were registered here on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login to F150Lightningforum with the same username and password as here!

CK.MECHA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2021
Threads
3
Messages
73
Reaction score
98
Location
Atlanta
Vehicles
Motorcycles
I lacked a little foresight and failed to install a transfer switch at my house, but an ice storm rolled through last night and we lost power. Has been out since about 1am, about 9 hours as of posting.

I have a gas furnace so I decided to try to hook it up around 3am. Switched off main breaker, disconnected the wiring from the HVAC unit at a junction box, hooked a male plug I had to the HVAC wiring, and connected to to my 7.2kw propower with a heavy duty extension cord. I was worried about the extension cord, but actually power draw is only around 500w which is less than half of a space heater we tried running to start with.

Also hooked up a few lights and our internet router. We have an older ineffient home, and a 6 month old baby, so Propower is a lifesaver today!

Installing a transfer switch is officially on the honey do list now

Screenshot_20220117-095353.png

 

Severdog

Well-known member
First Name
Craig
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Threads
8
Messages
198
Reaction score
215
Location
Greenville, SC
Vehicles
2022 F150 XLT Sport PB SuperCrew 6.5' 7.2Kw
Occupation
Trader
Nice. We lost power yesterday and I suddenly realized that I've made a mistake by not upgrading to the 7.2KW on my PB order that will be built week of 2/21. Do you guys think that if I request a change that it will push out my order date?
 

b4hand

Active member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Threads
0
Messages
32
Reaction score
19
Location
Austin TX
Vehicles
2021 Powerboost Carbonized Grey
Nice. We lost power yesterday and I suddenly realized that I've made a mistake by not upgrading to the 7.2KW on my PB order that will be built week of 2/21. Do you guys think that if I request a change that it will push out my order date?
Even if it moves it, it's worth it.
 

allJUMPstyle

Well-known member
First Name
Keith
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Threads
3
Messages
229
Reaction score
409
Location
Fort Worth, Tx
Vehicles
1964 VW Bug, 1963 VW Doublecab, 2021 F-150 ordered
Nice. We lost power yesterday and I suddenly realized that I've made a mistake by not upgrading to the 7.2KW on my PB order that will be built week of 2/21. Do you guys think that if I request a change that it will push out my order date?
If you have a vin, you won’t be able to change it. You would have to create a new build all together.
 

Severdog

Well-known member
First Name
Craig
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Threads
8
Messages
198
Reaction score
215
Location
Greenville, SC
Vehicles
2022 F150 XLT Sport PB SuperCrew 6.5' 7.2Kw
Occupation
Trader

dothedew

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2021
Threads
13
Messages
106
Reaction score
105
Location
Colorado
Vehicles
Kia Telluride, Model 3 Performance
I'm surprised your gas furnace thermostat/gas valve is using over 500W of power. I would have thought it uses like.. 25W. All it is doing is a sensor for temperature and gas flow, and holding a valve open.
 

Ajzride

Well-known member
First Name
Alan
Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Threads
5
Messages
365
Reaction score
362
Location
Houston
Vehicles
21Mach-E / 65Mustang / 21PB 502A 157"
Occupation
Eng
I'm surprised your gas furnace thermostat/gas valve is using over 500W of power. I would have thought it uses like.. 25W. All it is doing is a sensor for temperature and gas flow, and holding a valve open.
I'm sure it includes the blower too, plus he said he had some lights and the router.
 

DBL R

Well-known member
First Name
Jarred
Joined
Oct 11, 2021
Threads
2
Messages
217
Reaction score
360
Location
Washington
Vehicles
2021 F150 powerboost
Occupation
PA
any pictures of your makeshift setup?
 
OP
OP
CK.MECHA

CK.MECHA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2021
Threads
3
Messages
73
Reaction score
98
Location
Atlanta
Vehicles
Motorcycles
Yes, it included the blower motor and some other electronics as well.

I should have gotten pics, power is back on now after about 10 hours of running it from the truck and I put it back to mains power.

Basically my HVAC is in a closet in the garage. The power for the unit runs into a junction box near the unit where there is a local switch to turn it on/off; and then from there into the unit. I pulled the cover plate and switch out, pulled the wires from the switch, then installed a normal 120v male plug on the HVAC wires and capped the supply wires. Plugged it in to an extension cord and let her rip. This was 3am after all.

Not "elegant" but it worked. I think I could install a three way switch and power inlet box here for probably under $50.
 

ghanvass

Member
First Name
Shai
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Threads
3
Messages
18
Reaction score
21
Location
Houston, TX
Vehicles
2021 Ford F-150 Limited Powerboost
Yes, it included the blower motor and some other electronics as well.

I should have gotten pics, power is back on now after about 10 hours of running it from the truck and I put it back to mains power.

Basically my HVAC is in a closet in the garage. The power for the unit runs into a junction box near the unit where there is a local switch to turn it on/off; and then from there into the unit. I pulled the cover plate and switch out, pulled the wires from the switch, then installed a normal 120v male plug on the HVAC wires and capped the supply wires. Plugged it in to an extension cord and let her rip. This was 3am after all.

Not "elegant" but it worked. I think I could install a three way switch and power inlet box here for probably under $50.
Nice job! I did the same thing to the wiring on my furnace just before the winter storm hit Houston last February. Turned off the breaker, cut the supply wire and installed an outlet. On the other side of the cut wire (going to the furnace) I wired up a 15-amp 125-volt 3-wire plug. Then I laid out an extension cord from the furnace in my attic to the garage. When the power went out I swapped the plugs from the outlets to the extension cords and plugged the opposite ends into my generator (unfortunately this was before I had my current truck with 7.2kW PB). When the mains power came back I just swapped the plug back to the outlet and its been that way since.
IMG_0140.JPG
IMG_0146.JPG


Eventually I need to do a transfer switch as well - primarily so I can run the lights and AC during outages in the summer.
 

Severdog

Well-known member
First Name
Craig
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Threads
8
Messages
198
Reaction score
215
Location
Greenville, SC
Vehicles
2022 F150 XLT Sport PB SuperCrew 6.5' 7.2Kw
Occupation
Trader
If you have a vin, you won’t be able to change it. You would have to create a new build all together.
I just heard back from the dealer. They were able to re-submit the order with the 7.2kw without requiring a new build/VIN. I'll believe it when I receive it but looking at the VIN decoder, nothing in the VIN is specific to PPO option so I might be able to luck out.
 

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
3
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
I just heard back from the dealer. They were able to re-submit the order with the 7.2kw without requiring a new build/VIN. I'll believe it when I receive it but looking at the VIN decoder, nothing in the VIN is specific to PPO option so I might be able to luck out.
I really hope that works out for you.
It's hard to describe how comforting it is to know you have 7.2KWatts of rolling grid power with you at all times.

Honestly, I can't figure out why the Powerboost is even offered without the full utility of the 7.2KW feature. It's kinda crazy.
 

guppydriver

Well-known member
First Name
Aaron
Joined
Dec 7, 2021
Threads
7
Messages
88
Reaction score
78
Location
Utah
Vehicles
2020 Tundra
I just heard back from the dealer. They were able to re-submit the order with the 7.2kw without requiring a new build/VIN. I'll believe it when I receive it but looking at the VIN decoder, nothing in the VIN is specific to PPO option so I might be able to luck out.

Fingers crossed for you!

Interestingly though...

I was told that if you made any changes that cause a different invoice, you are subject to the price increase that was implemented around 12/26. Hopefully I'm wrong.
 

RossRR

Well-known member
First Name
Ross
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Threads
0
Messages
204
Reaction score
112
Location
Minnesota
Vehicles
19 Lariat Screw, 22 Lariat Screw on order
If you have a vin, you won’t be able to change it. You would have to create a new build all together.
Is this true? I placed an order on 11/18/21, received my VIN on 12/8/21, and asked my dealer to add Copilot 360 Active 2.0 (BlueCruise) on 12/17. My dealer said that it has been added but I have heard nothing from Ford since. Is my order at risk?

 

 
Top