2AActuary

Well-known member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
53
Reaction score
32
Location
Kansas City
Vehicles
2016 F-150 Platinum

mnstang

Well-known member
First Name
Nick
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
204
Reaction score
109
Location
MN
Vehicles
2021 F-150 Lariat PowerBoost (yet to ship)
Occupation
US Gov

syne7

Well-known member
First Name
Jason
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
54
Reaction score
33
Location
Leander, TX
Vehicles
2021 F150 Limited PowerBoost (Hybrid)
What’s the cost for buying and installing this? Anyone have any experience with this?
how many circuits can you hook into the tx switch? It looks like you’d run off the 220 plug. Does that mean you could only power 3.6 kW?
 
OP
Just Me

Just Me

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
101
Location
Texas
Vehicles
2021 F-150 Platinum
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #51
how many circuits can you hook into the tx switch? It looks like you’d run off the 220 plug. Does that mean you could only power 3.6 kW?
The 220 circuit can supply 7.2kW If needed. The 110 circuits supply 3.6 each. The 220 plug just combines those two circuits. The available supply is 7.2 total no matter which combination of plugs are used..
 
Last edited:

syne7

Well-known member
First Name
Jason
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
54
Reaction score
33
Location
Leander, TX
Vehicles
2021 F150 Limited PowerBoost (Hybrid)
The 220 circuit can supply 7.2kW If needed. The 110 circuits supply 3.6 each. The 220 plug just combines those two circuits. The available supply is 7.2 totally no matter which combination of plugs are used..
Awesome. I am gonna hook my house up ;)
 
First Name
Elvis
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Location
Boston, MA
Vehicles
Ram Limited 1500
Occupation
Product Designer
I will be making a few investments after this is all said and done. This is one of them.
You guys foresee any issues with plugging this into the home panel? I already have a 30amp 240v generator with a outdoor plug receptacle.. I was thinking maybe I sell it and just use the F150 since it's quieter and more fuel efficient for blackouts..
 

currybob

Well-known member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
1,745
Reaction score
1,787
Location
Alexandria Alabama
Vehicles
2021KRF150 PB; 2020 LexusRX350; 2016 Hellcat
Occupation
Retired Physicist from federal government; Army Veteran
You guys foresee any issues with plugging this into the home panel? I already have a 30amp 240v generator with a outdoor plug receptacle.. I was thinking maybe I sell it and just use the F150 since it's quieter and more fuel efficient for blackouts..
I would double check with an electrician but if you already have a generator receptacle I don't see why not.
 
First Name
Elvis
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Location
Boston, MA
Vehicles
Ram Limited 1500
Occupation
Product Designer
I would double check with an electrician but if you already have a generator receptacle I don't see why not.
Yeah I had an interlock (sort of like a poor man's transfer switch) installed 6 months ago for my brand new generator haha. Never had to use it yet, but its super loud and would guzzle way more gas then the F150 when I get it.

Wasn't sure if grounding was an issue, but t hen again my generator is not grounded to a metal rod since its connecting directly to the panel. So yeah on paper should be OK i think.
 

currybob

Well-known member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
1,745
Reaction score
1,787
Location
Alexandria Alabama
Vehicles
2021KRF150 PB; 2020 LexusRX350; 2016 Hellcat
Occupation
Retired Physicist from federal government; Army Veteran
Yeah I had an interlock (sort of like a poor man's transfer switch) installed 6 months ago for my brand new generator haha. Never had to use it yet, but its super loud and would guzzle way more gas then the F150 when I get it.

Wasn't sure if grounding was an issue, but t hen again my generator is not grounded to a metal rod since its connecting directly to the panel. So yeah on paper should be OK i think.
How much was it to have the transfer switch installed and what model type is it?

I'm looking to get something done myself so I can just plug the truck to the breaker but want to make sure I'm not powering up the electric grid.
 

dantheman

Active member
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
31
Reaction score
30
Location
BCS TX
Vehicles
21 XLT powerboost
How much was it to have the transfer switch installed and what model type is it?

I'm looking to get something done myself so I can just plug the truck to the breaker but want to make sure I'm not powering up the electric grid.
Same here. I was looking at a few in the $200 range, but they all seem like internal ones. I will need to mount mine outside. They look super easy to install but have not had one priced out by an electrician yet.
 

zdjelar

Well-known member
First Name
Saša
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Messages
269
Reaction score
151
Location
Houston
Vehicles
2021 F150 Limited (AMB)
Occupation
Energy
Isn't there a way to just plug into a dryer receptacle and feed the house that way? I know of many who do it that way with a generator. So why couldn't the propower onboard work the same way. If it's a relatively rare event, seems like you can save some money by not going through all the trouble of the transfer switch unless you know you're going to really use it a lot.

(I get that this isn't optimal, recommended, etc... there are safety considerations, and you MUST turn off the main house breaker first to not feed power back into the grid and put lineman in danger....but my point is, in a pinch like we were in here in Texas last week, it CAN be done)
 
Last edited:

currybob

Well-known member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
1,745
Reaction score
1,787
Location
Alexandria Alabama
Vehicles
2021KRF150 PB; 2020 LexusRX350; 2016 Hellcat
Occupation
Retired Physicist from federal government; Army Veteran
Isn't there a way to just plug into a dryer receptacle and feed the house that way? I know of many who do it that way with a generator. So why couldn't the propower onboard work the same way. If it's a relatively rare event, seems like you can save some money by not going through all the trouble of the transfer switch unless you know you're going to really use it a lot.

(I get that this isn't optimal, recommended, etc... there are safety considerations, and you MUST turn off the main house breaker first to not feed power back into the grid and put lineman in danger....but my point is, in a pinch like we were in here in Texas last week, it CAN be done)
Hummm, you know, that seems like that should work in a pinch. Just throw the main breaker coming into the house and shut off everything you don't want to power up. The house ground may throw the truck cut off though. Guess that could just be undone for a temporary fix.
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top