Sponsored

PID experimenting

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
Can someone else check this out?

I think this is PID for oil pressure on 2.7 motor.

Values line up with what I'm getting in Forscan.

220415 appears to return oil pressure in kPa.

Ford F-150 PID experimenting Screenshot_20231027-111148
Sponsored

 
OP
OP
fordtruckman2003

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
More testing and comparison with Forscan I do believe I have correct PID for oil pressure on 2.7 motors. Might work on others but you'll need to test it. :)


Frustrating when PID that worked on my 2011 don't work on my 2021.

Most frustrating thing ever is the boost.
Two different Ford PID I have for boost that worked on my old truck won't work on this truck. Ugh.

My dash gauge rarely ever moves, but Forscan shows a "measured boost at throttle inlet pressure sensor" that does change. Idle is around 98 kPa. 14 psi.

I can stomp throttle in park and gauge won't move on dash, I can see in Forscan it opens up wastegates.
 
Last edited:

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
I can't believe it!

I have been searching for that PID address and equation for better than 2 years.
How the heck did you do that so easily? 🤔🤣🤣🤣

It's returning the same value as HPTuner and Forscan on my 3.5 Ecoboost (Powerboost). Although it's in kPa and a slower refresh rate. But I'm NOT complaining. I'm ecstatic!

Thank you thank you thank you
 
OP
OP
fordtruckman2003

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
Thanks for confirming that it works.

You can add a conversion to psi if you want.
Torque Pro does this for me when setting up the custom PID and telling it units are kPa.

This should give you psi from kPa.
((A*256)+B)*0.1450377377

I still need to find a Boost PID that works on these new trucks.
No luck with that yet.
Torque Pro and the PID that worked on my old 2011 no longer works on my 2021.
Tried some others I found online that didn't work either.
 
Last edited:

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
I owe you big time. I will see if I can find a boost pid for you. :)

Edit: In OBDLink, the boost pid I use is listed in a category called "calculated pids"

It mirrors the boost gauge on my Instrument cluster exactly, as far as value. Except I edited the range on the PID to allow negative values and so it also serves as a vacuum gauge.
 

Sponsored

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
By the way, you nailed the conversion perfectly!

This should give you psi from kPa.
((A*256)+B)*0.1450377377
 

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
Exactly how HPTuners reports, when the Powerboost immediately lights ICE, it has the variable oil pressure pump set at stage #2 (high pressure)

Ford F-150 PID experimenting 20231027_162624


After a few seconds at idle, it drops to stage #1 pressure

Ford F-150 PID experimenting 20231027_162646


So nice to finally have that PID on a smartphone app. I still can't believe you just harvested that PID so casually. 🤔🤣
 

Grafx36510

Well-known member
First Name
Rob
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Threads
4
Messages
839
Reaction score
967
Location
NY
Vehicles
2019 F150 XLT 302A/2022 F150 Tremor 402A
Occupation
The guy that everyone b*&%ches to at work...
@Snakebitten for us slow kids in the back of the classroom, how do I put this into OBD Link?
 
OP
OP
fordtruckman2003

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
By the way, you nailed the conversion perfectly!

This should give you psi from kPa.
((A*256)+B)*0.1450377377
Google. :)

OBDLink app looks like a ripoff of Torque down to the exact menu options.
I'll see if it can give me the actual PID that I want. My list of Ford PID are mostly broken for this 2021 truck.
 

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
Google. :)

OBDLink app looks like a ripoff of Torque down to the exact menu options.
I'll see if it can give me the actual PID that I want. My list of Ford PID are mostly broken for this 2021 truck.
OBDLink, once you add the "enhanced Ford/Lincoln/Mercury" PID package, has far more pids available than Torque Pro. ($7 add if you aren't using the OBDLink MX+ adapter)

And you will have the boost gauge you are after if it's the same for the 2.7 as 3.5.
I'd bet it does.
 

Sponsored


Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
@Snakebitten for us slow kids in the back of the classroom, how do I put this into OBD Link?
No worries. Happy to oblige.

Go to "settings"
Then choose "user defined pids"
Then choose "New" from the eclipse.

Configure exactly as below, emphasis on the two values fordtruckman2003 harvested!

Ford F-150 PID experimenting Screenshot_20231027_164628


Then go to your dashboard and add a gauge. (digital is what I chose)

Point it to your new user defined EOP pid, and whalla!
 

Grafx36510

Well-known member
First Name
Rob
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Threads
4
Messages
839
Reaction score
967
Location
NY
Vehicles
2019 F150 XLT 302A/2022 F150 Tremor 402A
Occupation
The guy that everyone b*&%ches to at work...
No worries. Happy to oblige.

Go to "settings"
Then choose "user defined pids"
Then choose "New" from the eclipse.

Configure exactly as below, emphasis on the two values fordtruckman2003 harvested!

Screenshot_20231027_164628.jpg


Then go to your dashboard and add a gauge. (digital is what I chose)

Point it to your new user defined EOP pid, and whalla!
Thank you! If you’re up my way here in NY, I’ll buy you a steak dinner.
 
OP
OP
fordtruckman2003

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
OBDLink, once you add the "enhanced Ford/Lincoln/Mercury" PID package, has far more pids available than Torque Pro. ($7 add if you aren't using the OBDLink MX+ adapter)

And you will have the boost gauge you are after if it's the same for the 2.7 as 3.5.
I'd bet it does.
I've had the OBDLink MX for over a decade. 🤣
Just never used the Chinese company's app.

While they did steal some basic equations the advanced functions in Torque are not duplicated.

With OBDLink the "Metric to English scale factor" would be the long decimal number if you wanted to simplify the formula part. :)

Oil Life is simple, might check this works on the other trucks.

Ford F-150 PID experimenting Screenshot_20231027-191818
 
OP
OP
fordtruckman2003

fordtruckman2003

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Threads
23
Messages
3,229
Reaction score
2,572
Location
Indy
Vehicles
2021 F-150 FX4 Lariat
I might make the switch to OBDLink app.

I had to do some researching. I was thinking they were China based but it's the same company in Arizona I bought my first Elm327 box from way back in 2003. Serial cable, big external box with clear window to see the circuit board inside, and cable out of that went to the vehicle. That box didn't work when I bought my 2011 so I upgraded to the OBDLINK MX.

What I have still works fine but the offer of "free" enhanced PID is very tempting. Looking at the app cost every family vehicle I plug into would be another $15. Is it really free or is that only for one vehicle?
 

Snakebitten

Well-known member
First Name
Bruce
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Threads
4
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
16,919
Location
Coastal Texas
Vehicles
2022 F150 KingRanch Powerboost
I'm not convinced that the MX from yesterdecade is the same as the current MX.
Regardless, with the current MX+, the "+" includes one "enhanced package" is included free. If you choose Ford/Lincoln/Mercury, you can use the app on as many Fords as you want. But if one of your vehicles is another make, you would have to pay for the second enhanced package.

OBDLink app with the enhanced pid library for Gen14 F150's is impressive. It's quite the library. And development of the app is pretty active. Lots of updates. (on Android at least)

I have been a Torque Pro customer for several years, but OBDLink offered a huge advantage with the Powerboost. It's stunning how many PIDs are available in the OBDLink Ford/Lincoln/Mercury library.
Sponsored

 
 




Top