Sponsored

new sync weirdness

powerboatr

Well-known member
First Name
Robert
Joined
May 9, 2022
Threads
134
Messages
3,079
Reaction score
3,464
Location
North East Texas, Piney Woods
Vehicles
2022 F150 King Ranch 4x4
Occupation
Retired Navy Senior Chief
i have phone WIFI on and bluetooth turned on as per the last year, when i approach the truck, then get in a start
it will connect to phone and phone will connect to trucks hotspot wifi. perfect


but last few days the truck will refuse to allow phone to connect via wifi, even if i turn wifi off on phone and truck and then turn them back on.. it will see it via BT but not wifi.
i can shut off truck, open door then close door to kill sync and wait 30 seconds , restart and still no wifi connection, i get a failed message.

sooooooo when i get to my destination, shut off truck, then get back in and start up...BOOM everything connects like it should. no issues
only thing different is i am at home when it chooses to not connect, same parking spot, same orientation to street, etc

i rebooted sync, no change
rebooted phone no change

really werird
Sponsored

 

parkerdog

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Threads
27
Messages
701
Reaction score
391
Location
West Central Illinois
Vehicles
22 f150 UNICORN (rcsb XLT co-pilot 360 assist 2.0)
Occupation
Keeper of the DOG and running with scissors.
Can't help you with that. I thought a phone just connected through bluetooth.
I still can't figure out my presets on the radio. I swear it used to loop through them on my steering wheel buttons but all of a sudden I'm getting channel not available. And when I get to those it won't loop to the beginning of the programmed stations. I have to back up with the other arrow. I didn't think it was originally like that. (getting old I guess) Ehh! what's that you young whippersnapper........ heh... heh... heh.. hey Beavis he said snapper.... (I think I need a nap...)
 

Henfield

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2021
Threads
1
Messages
306
Reaction score
218
Location
Usa
Vehicles
2021 XLT Screw 5.0,4x4,302Asport,
Mine went into wired only mode for some time recently. Then all fixed all of a sudden. Its one of those who F'd up Ford or Apple moments. That also happened after someone suggested I do a reset or similar in sync. Hopefully they'll see your message.
 

PaulGrun

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Threads
6
Messages
217
Reaction score
208
Location
United States
Vehicles
2022 F-150 XLT
Can't help you with that. I thought a phone just connected through bluetooth.
I still can't figure out my presets on the radio. I swear it used to loop through them on my steering wheel buttons but all of a sudden I'm getting channel not available. And when I get to those it won't loop to the beginning of the programmed stations. I have to back up with the other arrow. I didn't think it was originally like that. (getting old I guess) Ehh! what's that you young whippersnapper........ heh... heh... heh.. hey Beavis he said snapper.... (I think I need a nap...)
I'm getting this behavior too. It most certainly used to be the case that it treated all sets of active presets as a big circular queue.
It just started doing this 'channel unavailable' nonsense recently so i haven't paid enough attention yet to notice when it happens. My first thought was that one of my channels had been deleted by Sirius, but maybe you're right and it no longer knows how to skip to the next set of presets.

What's doubly annoying is when it happens and it says 'channel unavailable' and starts playing a "Sirius preview" ad instead.
 

parkerdog

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Threads
27
Messages
701
Reaction score
391
Location
West Central Illinois
Vehicles
22 f150 UNICORN (rcsb XLT co-pilot 360 assist 2.0)
Occupation
Keeper of the DOG and running with scissors.
I'm getting this behavior too. It most certainly used to be the case that it treated all sets of active presets as a big circular queue.
It just started doing this 'channel unavailable' nonsense recently so i haven't paid enough attention yet to notice when it happens. My first thought was that one of my channels had been deleted by Sirius, but maybe you're right and it no longer knows how to skip to the next set of presets.

What's doubly annoying is when it happens and it says 'channel unavailable' and starts playing a "Sirius preview" ad instead.
That's what it does. And apparently I'm an idiot because I still haven't figured out how to set the presets right and what the difference even is with that setting of how many pages of presets.
 

Sponsored

PaulGrun

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Threads
6
Messages
217
Reaction score
208
Location
United States
Vehicles
2022 F-150 XLT
I'm getting this behavior too. It most certainly used to be the case that it treated all sets of active presets as a big circular queue.
It just started doing this 'channel unavailable' nonsense recently so i haven't paid enough attention yet to notice when it happens. My first thought was that one of my channels had been deleted by Sirius, but maybe you're right and it no longer knows how to skip to the next set of presets.

What's doubly annoying is when it happens and it says 'channel unavailable' and starts playing a "Sirius preview" ad instead.
Sorry for the self-quote.
I looked into this a little further, and here's what I found. I think there's a bug in some combination of Sync4 (suprise!) and SiriusXM. Fortunately it's very minor and easily overcome.
Details:
the system adopted a strange behavior where selecting the next preset station using the steering wheel buttons resulted in "channel unavailable". Thereafter, pressing the button again would take me to the first preset on the first group of presets, and hilarity ensues. Thereafter, the steering wheel buttons would keep me limited in the presets available. it appeared as though the steering wheel buttons would no longer scroll through the large circular queue consisting of all preset channels.
what seems to be happening:
It behaves as though Sync4 had 'forgotten' one of my SiriusXM preset channels. When it hit that preset item while scrolling, Sync4 loses its mind and kind of forgets how to scroll smoothly from one preset group to another.
the solution:
is simple. Reassign the suspect preset button to the desired SiriusXM channel and normal behavior is restored.

Apologies to the OP for hijacking the thread.
 

parkerdog

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Threads
27
Messages
701
Reaction score
391
Location
West Central Illinois
Vehicles
22 f150 UNICORN (rcsb XLT co-pilot 360 assist 2.0)
Occupation
Keeper of the DOG and running with scissors.
Sorry for the self-quote.
I looked into this a little further, and here's what I found. I think there's a bug in some combination of Sync4 (suprise!) and SiriusXM. Fortunately it's very minor and easily overcome.
Details:
the system adopted a strange behavior where selecting the next preset station using the steering wheel buttons resulted in "channel unavailable". Thereafter, pressing the button again would take me to the first preset on the first group of presets, and hilarity ensues. Thereafter, the steering wheel buttons would keep me limited in the presets available. it appeared as though the steering wheel buttons would no longer scroll through the large circular queue consisting of all preset channels.
what seems to be happening:
It behaves as though Sync4 had 'forgotten' one of my SiriusXM preset channels. When it hit that preset item while scrolling, Sync4 loses its mind and kind of forgets how to scroll smoothly from one preset group to another.
the solution:
is simple. Reassign the suspect preset button to the desired SiriusXM channel and normal behavior is restored.

Apologies to the OP for hijacking the thread.
That might work for the average person.... Think >>>> Idiot here<<<< I still haven't figured out all the nuances of the presets nor how to program them right. I was happy just scrolling through the 6 or so stations I had programmed somehow...... until I couldn't :(

Sometimes I think it's a good thing that the lane centering drives me down the road as I cuss at the stupid radio because otherwise I'd probably be scaring the S#^$ out of the other people on the road!
Sponsored

 
 




Top